Skip to content

The five shortlisted designs.
Click a design to jump to that entry.

Welcome to CentreStage - An exhibit of designs for Western Australia's new state-of-the-art performance venue

In June 2005 the Minister for Culture and the Arts Sheila McHale launched CentreStage – an international competition for the design of a new performing arts venue.

The venue to be built in the Perth Cultural Centre on the corner of William and Roe Streets Northbridge, is the first large-scale, purpose built performing arts venue to be constructed in the city centre in more than 30 years.

The call to architects worldwide received an initial response of 137 registrations, with 40 firms submitting their conceptual designs in Stage 1 of the competition.

A jury panel comprising Professor Geoffrey London, WA Government Architect; Professor Adèle Naudé Santos, Dean of Architecture and Urban Planning at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Professor Leon van Schaik, Innovation Professor at Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology; Mr Gus Ferguson, Director of Ferguson Architects (Perth); Michael Lynch, Chief Executive, South Bank Centre (London); and Mr Alastair Bryant, Director General, Department of Culture and the Arts; deliberated over the 40 designs and selected a short list of five.

In November 2005 the jury met again, this time to choose the winner from the schematic designs received in Stage 2 of the competition. This was followed by an announcement by the Minister of the successful firm – Kerry Hill Architects – who was awarded the contract for the design of the new performing art venue.

CentreStage was an all round success with all entries demonstrating architectural innovation and design excellence. The venue is expected to be completed end of 2008. We invite you to view all of the entries received in the competition.

Enter the Virtual Design Exhibition

Back to the CentreStage website

We welcome your feeback about the competition and/or designs submitted.

Jump straight to an entry:

  1. Archteype Design Studio in association with Oldfield Knott Architects
  2. Architectus in association with Troppo Architects
  3. Ashton Raggatt McDougall in association with Cameron Chisholm Nicol
  4. Barton Myers Associates in association with Peter Hunt Architect
  5. Bernard Seeber Architects in association with H3 Hardy Collaboration Architecture and Frederic Schwartz Architects
  6. Dan Hanganu Architects in association with Sasha Ivanovich & Associates
  7. Denton Corker Marshall in association with James Christou + Partners Architects
  8. DesignInc Architects in association with RHWL Architects
  9. Duncan & Lindsay McLagan
  10. Durbach Block Architects in association with Oldham Boas Ednie Brown trading as The Buchan Group
  11. Edmond and Corrigan in association with Donaldson + Warn Architects
  12. Fender Katsalidis Architects in association with Bolles + Wilson
  1. Fitzpatrick + Partners in association with Steve Artelaris Architects
  2. Gavan Reilly Architect
  3. Glenn Howells Architects in association with Patrick Irwin Architects
  4. GreenhilLi Design in association with MPS Architects
  5. Gresley Abas Architects in association with Woodhead International
  6. Hames Sharley
  7. Hassell
  8. Iredale Pedersen Hook Architects in association with Hames Sharley
  9. Jones Coulter Young Architects in association with Bruce Mau Design Inc
  10. Keane +Timm in association with Tierra Design
  11. Kerstin Thompson Architects
  1. Lab Architecture Studio in association with Donaldson + Warn
  2. Matrix Architektur in association with Hassell Limited
  3. Michael Mostoller Architect and the Henderson Design Group in association with Hassell
  4. MGA Partners Architects in association with Overman & Zuideveld
  5. Office 3 Architects in association with Allies and Morrison Architects
  6. Oldham Boas Ednie Brown trading as The Buchan Group
  7. Parkinson Architects
  8. Rijavec Architects in association with Grounds Kent Architects and Streames & Associates Architects
  9. Ryder Associates Architects in association with Kelsall Binet Architects
  10. T&Z Architects in association with Terry Farrell & Partners
  11. Tonkin Zulaikha Greer in association with Woodhead International
  12. Williams Ross Architects in association with The Buchan Group

Stage 2 (Shortlisted Entries):

  1. John Wardle Architects in association with Donaldson + Warn
  2. Johnson Pilton Walker in association with Utzon Associates Architects
  3. Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates (International) PA in association with Crawford Rattigan Architects and Cameron Chisholm Nicol (WA)
  4. PTW Architects in association with Jones Coulter Young

The CentreStage Virtual Design Exhibition showcases the entries received in the CentreStage international competition for the design of Western Australia's new performing arts venue. The competition received 50 entries, with the winner announced on 19 November 2005. Read more information on the CentreStage website.

We welcome your feeback about the competition and/or designs submitted.